Political system Federal system with multi-party democracy.

Head of state President Dr. Mulatu Teshome

Head of government Prime Minister Halilemariam Desalegn

Government The Ethiopian Constitution was adopted in 1995. The Constitution provides for federal system, which is structurally based on the federal government with nine autonomous regional states and two chartered city administrations. The FDRE has a parliamentarian form of government with a bicameral parliament which comprises the House of the Peoples’

Representatives and the House of the Federation. The House of the Peoples’ Representatives is the highest authority of the Federal Government.

Capital city Addis Ababa

Location Ethiopia is situated in the north-eastern part of Africa. It is bordered by South Sudan and the Sudan to the west, Eritrea to the north, Djibouti and Somalia to the east and Kenya to the south, extending 30 to 15 0 north of the equator and 33 0 to 48 0 east of the Greenwich meridian.

Area 1.14 million square kilometers (27th biggest country in the world).

Arable land 513,000 square kilometers (45%)

Irrigated land 34,200 square kilometers (3%)

President of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia

H.E Dr. Mulatu Teshome

Prime Minister of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia

H.E. Dr. Abiy Ahmed

Speaker of the House of People Representatives of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia

H.E. Muferiat Kemal

Foreign Minister of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia

H.E Dr. Workneh Gebeyehu

Constitution of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia

In May 1991, the military Derg regime was overthrown. After seventeen years of civil war, the people of Ethiopia saw the dawn of a new era; Ethiopians for the first time in history were members of one community with the same destiny.

The democratic groups of Ethiopia convened a conference in Addis Ababa between 1st-5th July 1991. The participants discussed and approved a Transitional Charter which laid down the principals for the transition period.

The process of democratisation was not an easy one as there was no culture or tradition of democracy in the country. During the transition period two interlinked and fundamental steps were taken to guarantee the rights of nations and nationalities to determine their own affairs:
• A Constitution was drafted and ratified.
• Power was devolved to the regional states.
Under the Constitution, the federal arrangement guaranteed the rights of the federal states to determine their own affairs.